top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Access Radio Hour

TRANSCRIPT: The Access Radio Hour, Episode 007, Friendsgiving Submissions

The Access Radio Hour blends music by disabled artists and conversations about disability at Emerson. Hosted by Access: Student Disability Union's Vice President for Community, Greyson Acquaviva, this accessible radio show brings disability to WECB every Friday from 2-3pm EST.


The audio of this special Friendsgiving segment can be found here.

 

Greyson:

While this would be the time when we’d usually have an interview, we are instead having the Access community say what they're thankful for. For this is the day after Thanksgiving and here on The Access Radio Hour, we like to create new engaging content every once in a while. We were able to get a number of recordings from the Access community stating what they're thankful for. While this year may have not been the greatest year we have experienced, there is still so much to be thankful for even in the most difficult times, such as with a pandemic worsening all over the country, families and loved ones getting sick or infected, the insurmountable stress of election year, etc. But with all that happening, we've still power through as a nation and as a country. So, without further ado, here is what the Access community is thankful for.


Shruti:

Hey, everyone, my name is Shruti, I use the she series pronouns, and I'm the Co Vice President for advocacy at Access: Student Disability Union. I'm grateful for so many different things in my life. This past year, and this past semester has presented so many challenges and pain. But looking back, there were so many great things to come out of those struggles. First, I'm so grateful for my friends, Emily, Leah, Mel, Gabby and Ethan. We went through a lot over the past few months. But we all became closer because of those situations. And I'm so grateful to have them in my life and to know that we can all depend on one another. I'm also really grateful for the communities that I'm a part of who have helped me through the bad moments, but have also celebrated the good ones with me. Specifically, I'm very thankful for Jayln for always rooting for me, and Jehan and Harper for always providing a space for me to grow and heal. And of course, I'm thankful for my wonderful Flawless sisters, my POWER family, and everyone I met through the intersectionalist and Access.


Gelman:

Hi, my name is Sisel Gelman.


Ava:

And I'm Ava.


Gelman:

And what I'm thankful for this year is that I had the opportunity to come to Boston this semester and just, you know, learn a lot of cool things and meet a lot of new people and just feel like I belong right here and right now doing the things that I love. Yeah, Ava, what's, what are you thankful for?


Ava:

I'm very thankful for all of the people that I've met and how they have made this year so amazing, despite all of the health restrictions that have been put on us. And also for everybody who is continuing to work here and put effort into all of the students’ lives to make it a great semester so far.


Gelman:

That's amazing. All right. So, thank you to everyone. And I hope we— you have a great Thanksgiving and happy holidays.


Ava:

Happy holidays!


Harper:

Hey, Access community, it's Harper here to say what I'm thankful for this year. So, I think when it all boils down, the thing I'm most thankful for, is just to be here, where I'm at in my life right now. Yes, this year has been wild. And there are a lot of days— most days even— where things feel really heavy. But through it all, I'm here. I'm with my family here in Texas. I have my friends from childhood that I get to Zoom with. I have all of you and the Access community, in the Emerson community that I get to have weekly meetings with, hang out with, talk about life with, go through all of this together. I've never felt like I have such community in my life until these last couple of years, really just this year with Access. We've been able to, to create something really beautiful together in this community that I'm really, really thankful for. So I'm definitely thankful for all of you guys. And I'm thankful to be a student in college, getting my education, you know, learning about things that I care about gaining skills so that I can continue my career in writing and media and Disability Justice. I'm really grateful that I have the opportunity to exist in a world where Disability Justice is starting to be a part of the conversation more and more and that I along with amazing people just like all of you guys can be a part of bringing that conversation to the mainstream. So, I'm excited for the future. I'm excited to keep doing this community thing with y'all whatever that looks like as time ticks on. And yeah, I'm thankful for positive outlooks and hearing from all of you guys. So, thank you.


Oliver:

Hi there. My name is Oliver. I use they/them pronouns. I'm a sophomore VMA major with a minor in psychology. I am super thankful this year for finally after 19 years being diagnosed with dyslexia. It was this huge relief off my shoulders. To have all these things that I've experienced, validated with a diagnosis. It's amazing to be able to look back and see, like, “Hey, I'm not stupid or wrong, for experiencing all these things. It's just my brain playing a trick on me.” And I've been able to make friends and talk about my experiences with them, which has also been so cool and so amazing. And this is like really silly. But when I got one of the accommodations here at Emerson, I literally jumped out of my seat with joy, and started crying. I'm also super thankful that I got to start testosterone this year. I'm super thankful for all the love and support that my friends and family have given me. And starting that it was a big step in my transition. I'm super thankful that my friends and my family are all safe and healthy. And I'm, of course grateful for the Access: Student Disability union, and all the work that they're doing. And finally, of course, I am super thankful for my dog, Rosie.


Zach:

Hello, this is Zach Swasta, Emerson College class of 2020, and also the former co-president and co-founder of Access. Well, as you can probably tell, this year has been rough, and it's been rough to finish off college. See, life is always just so full of twists and turns. And yet, I somehow always seem to find my feet. So that's the first thing I'm thankful for. The rebounds my life takes when things start to go downhill, and the way things have turned around for me and set me at a greater new path. Although I had to leave my beloved Boston behind and return home to Horseheads, New York, I was fortunate enough to find a job that I love in my field. And I gotta say my time here at WENY news so far has come with some great new friends, and some new experiences yet to come. I'm thankful to have had this chapter in my life, but I'm also thankful for the people that I've met along the way, including my two bestest friends Annette and Regina, and also my friends still at Emerson and at Access. Harper, Greyson, Shruti, Dylan—

you guys are killing it and I cannot wait to see what more you'll do in the future. I'm so thankful to have served our community alongside you guys because you all really showed me that my two years at Emerson, were not in vain. So, thank you all. And I wish everyone listening, happy and safe holiday season.


Abbie:

Hi, my name is Abbie Anderson. I am a freshman theatre and performance major. And what I'm most thankful for this Thanksgiving is the city of Boston. It is my favorite place in the world. I've never felt so peaceful and happy and just excited to be outside and explore. I love the city so much. And I love everything that Emerson has been able to provide. For me. I love my major. I love all the friends I've made. It's just all around a wonderful experience. I've never been happier and never felt more loved and accepted within the community.


Cassie:

I am thankful for the incredible people I'm surrounded by at Emerson College that always push me to do my best and have taught me to challenge things that I care about and advocate for myself when I used to not be sure how to do that. I'm also incredibly thankful for my family, especially my little brother for completely changing my perspective of people and the world in general. I have no idea what I do without him and I'm so proud and thankful to see him grow and learn and grow up every day.


Abigail:

Hello, my name is Abigail Hadfield and I am a member of the greater Access community. I've been commuting meetings this semester. And I really have enjoyed my time with meetings, the things that I've learned. And I think that I've been very privileged to be part of some great discussions. So that's one thing that I'm very thankful for the semester is coming to meetings and getting to hear from some wonderful people. The other thing that I'm thankful for is the health of all my family and friends. I've been incredibly fortunate that all of my family and friends have been in excellent health for the past eight or nine months. And I think I've been very lucky overall. And I think that sometimes we take for granted our own health and the health of our loved ones. And I'm trying to take time this holiday season to be thankful for everyone in my life having exceptionally good fortune these past eight months. And I'm just very grateful to have so many loved ones in my life.


Jay:

Hey, my name is Jay. I use the she/they pronouns and I am a sophomore a journalism major. I guess the first and biggest thing that I'm thankful for is that I'm alive. And I know that's a little cheesy. But this has been a long and incredibly tough year. And for most of it, I've kind of had to take care of myself. And it was hard because this was my first time being in the States all on my own. And the second thing I'm thankful for is I'm not really on my own. I have such a strong support system, the friendships I've made here. All of my friends have been so loving and supportive. And some of them check in with me frequently, keeping me accountable, making sure that I'm taking care of my physical and emotional well-being. And the third thing is that I'm thriving, because of these people in my life. And I am doing almost everything that I came here to do. And then some. And overall, I just am thankful that in spite of everything, I'm making things work. And I'm making so many, so many precious memories along the way. And I'm thankful just to be here.


Harper:

Hi, Access community, it's Harper here, President and Co-Founder of access, I just wanted to come on and say a huge thank you to everyone who's helped us get affiliated as an org. This week, we officially became an affiliated org here at Emerson College, which is a very exciting feat that we've been working towards for the past year. So, a huge thank you to the college for supporting us. To seal for always being there for us and helping us cross this, this hurdle of affiliation. Thank you to everyone at SGA, who has been a part of that process as well. And of course, thank you to the people who have been an active part of filling out affiliation forms, creating the constitution. So, huge shout out goes to our current e-board and our past e-board with Zach Swasta. Everyone who is coming to meetings, everyone who has supported Access on social media, word of mouth— we could not have made this possible without so many wonderful supporters. Students, faculty, staff, upper level administration at the college— the support means the world we're so happy to be here at Emerson to be Emerson’s org for students with disabilities. It's really exciting to have this, you know, level of official recognition and to be able to access funding for the first time next semester. So, we're looking forward to all the wonderful things to come in the future. And just really, really excited to have this affiliation. So that is a huge thing that I, Harper, am thankful for and that all of us here at Access are thankful for this holiday season and far beyond. So huge, huge, thank you.


Greyson:

Last but not least, I'm thankful for all the wonderful time I've gotten to spend with my mom while being sort of trapped in the house with her, as well as for my dog Rumi has been such an amazing addition to our family and has given me such joy and happiness and laughter during these dark times. I'm also thankful for being a part of Access as it has given me so much hope for the future of accessibility on campus at Emerson College. I'm also thankful for the Emerson College Quidditch team for a while I haven't been able to do much with them as I'm way far away from them. It's been nice to be part of that ever-growing circle of friends which are almost like family to me. Lastly, I'm thankful for WECB for giving me the opportunity to produce and host this show. It's been such a joy and fun time working on a radio show with them and I hope to continue doing so in the coming semesters I still have here at Emerson College. I've always wanted to produce and host a radio show and my dreams have come true thanks to WECB and the Access organization.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page